Emergency Management Performance Grant (EMPG)

Contact Us

Provides more than $350 million to assist state, local, tribal, territorial governments in enhancing and sustaining all-hazards emergency management capabilities.


All 56 States and territories, as well as the Republic of the Marshall Islands and the Federated States of Micronesia, are eligible to apply for FY 2016 EMPG Program funds.  Either the State Administrative Agency (SAA) or the state’s Emergency Management Agency (EMA) applies directly to FEMA for EMPG Program funds on behalf of each state or territory, however, only one application is accepted from each state or territory.


The FY 2016 EMPG Program funds are allocated in compliance with Section 662 of the Post-Katrina Emergency Management Reform Act of 2006, as amended (6 U.S.C. § 762).  All 50 States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico receive a base amount of 0.75 percent of the total available grant funding.  Four territories (American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, and the U.S. Virgin Islands) receive a base amount of 0.25 percent of the total available grant funding.  The balance of EMPG Program funds is distributed on a population-share basis.  Pursuant to Title II of the Compact of Free Association Amendments Act of 2003 (Public Law 108-188), funds are also available for the Federated States of Micronesia and for the Republic of the Marshall Islands.

Company Name © 2012